The Extraordinary Life of Sharva Sanders

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Today was the day family, friends, co-workers and many more gathered to say farewell to our beloved Sharva Sanders. As many know, Sharva was killed in the Garland tornado on December 26, 2015 along with 10 others.

Because of the damage done we were unable to view Sharva but it felt like we didn’t have to. Remembering her as she was is how I would like to remember her. She always had a smile on her face and a joke to crack! That’s how I want to remember Sharva so maybe it’s a good thing that we didn’t get to see her for this final time.

The graduating class of Eastern Hills High School (EHHS 1991) and her State Farm family were present as well as family and friends. It’s just a wonderful feeling knowing that everyone that showed up loved Sharva as much as her family did especially her State Farm family who took up a good chunk of the church!

I believe the part of the “celebration” that tore many of us to shreds was when we had to leave her at the cemetery.

I still feel like it’s all a dream. I tell myself that I’m going to wake up and see a notification from her from Facebook telling me she’s alright but today reassured me that I will never get another notification from her ever again. We’ll never get to hear her next joke and laugh to tears but we will see her again one day.

Looking around the church it amazed me how many lives Sharva touched including my own. She was proud of me at my high school graduation and was the first, and possibly only, person to shed tears. She even told me she was proud of me and the young lady I am becoming. And everyone who spoke today only had great things to say.

I just want to say thank you! Thank you Sharva for just being you and loving everyone for who they are no matter what! Thank you for your jokes that made me laugh to tears. And most of all thank you for having such a positive impact on all of our lives. Until we meet again, I love you and rest in paradise Sharva M. Sanders.

Leave a Reply

